A Weather Conundrum

I’ll just lay it out there: this summer, the heat in New York City has been completely unbearable. Up until now, I have been unemployed and therefore I have been either trying to cool myself down while job hunting during the workday in my apartment, or piling on the layers as I hunted jobs in the best air conditioning in the city, Starbucks. Today, I started (much to my and my “benefactors'” joy) a new job at an amazing non-profit, which I will blog about in a later post. Working in an office in the summer, especially in a city like New York where you rarely drive, brings up a large conundrum (one of my favorite words). Tonight, while dining at Bloomingdales with my girl, Amy, we discussed this. Yes, you will notice I frequent Bloomingdales A LOT.

So here it is: in the summer heat, while the air conditioners are blasting, it is nearly impossible to dress for work. Although you would think you could wear light airy clothing and then cover up inside, for some reason, it still never seems to work for me. Today I wore black ankle pants, a tank top and a sweater. After about an hour, I was freezing and went out to get a HOT coffee with lunch. The lady looked at me like I was crazy ordering a hot coffee.

The point of the story is, as much as I love love love summer for the sake of lying out, wearing sundresses and being able to wear my bikini in the pool and ocean, I am very much looking forward to the wearing cooling down a bit and getting ready for FALL FASHION. Luckily, many stores are already starting to show Fall looks and although I am incredibly disappointed by the brightly colored sequin skirts, there are many items I am already putting on my wish list, including many striped cashmere sweaters (a girl can never have too much cashmere). Below are two of my favorite looks I paraded around the second floor of Bloomingdales in tonight.

LOVE this coat from Alice + Olivia (photo from shopbop.com)

I love most anything fur- faux or real- and this is no exception. Rebecca Taylor. (photo from bloomingdales.com)

If anyone has a good answer to the hot weather/office problem or wants to share their favorite upcoming fall look, leave it in the comments! Or feel free to e-mail me at sparklingandchic@gmail.com.

2 Comments on “A Weather Conundrum”

  1. Futtkicknok says:

    Wow all I can say is that you are a great writer! Where can I contact you if I want to hire you?


Leave a Reply

