Inspiration: The Costume Institute

Today I spent Sunday Funday brunching with a girlfriend, shopping for a dress for my cousin’s upcoming black-tie wedding at Bloomingdales (to no avail) and then swimming through the rainstorm to The Metropolitan Museum of Art for the Costume Institute’s current exhibit, American Woman: Fashion a National Identity. In my opinion, there are very few things in the fashion world more inspiring than seeing the annual Costume Institute exhibit. I have attended three years in a row, ever since I have lived here, and have a now three-strong collection of the coffee table books from each year.

This year’s exhibit was sponsored by Gap (one of my favorite stores for daytime apparel) and, in my opinion, seemed shorter than the two previous years, but no less spectacular. There were numerous rooms each focusing on a different type of period clothing and how they have affected fashion throughout the years. My personal favorites were “Flappers” and “Screen Sirens”. Below I share a few of my favorite pieces from the exhibit. (Photos from High Style Masterworks from the Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection at The Metropolitan Museum of Art).

I would love this sweater for this upcoming fall season, minus the turtleneck

Charles James

This is one of my favorite dresses from the exhibit, wanted to take it to wear for the wedding

Cristobal Balenciaga

In the coffee table book, not the exhibit, but I fell in love with it and NEEDED to show everyone

Charles James

Also in the book and not exhibit. I need a dress with a voluptuous train like this one. That is how you truly make an exit.

After viewing this exhibit, I have great new ideas for things to look for to wear to this upcoming wedding. Everyone who is in the New York area and has the slightest interest in the fashion industry needs to go see this exhibit before it ends on August 15, 2010. For more information, please visit http://www.metmuseum.org/special/se_event.asp?OccurrenceId={CA088C8E-D618-4503-91E7-833569115BF2}&HomePageLink=special_c1a

4 Comments on “Inspiration: The Costume Institute”

  1. Amy says:

    Awesome new blog!!!! Love it!

  2. Cottage Gal says:

    Hi Katie! I love your new blog – it’s great! Thanks for linking to mine – I’ll do the same.

  3. Mama says:

    looking good!

  4. Nora says:

    Katie this is terrific!!
    I loved the dress from the book too!!

    Have fun, Nora


Leave a Reply

