Helping a Good Cause is Always in Style- World Alzheimer’s Day

After a month long hiatus (two for the last weeks of summer, one for the first week of fall and of course one for Mercedes Benz Fashion Week which is totally a holiday), I am back in action. While I am happy to be able to share details of Fashion Week, since I was able to attend a show this year, and Fashion’s Night Out, this post today will be focused on something entirely different. Please realize that this post is a very sensitive subject to me and something I take very seriously. I will be back with my peppy upbeat posts tomorrow.

Today, September 21st, is World Alzheimer’s Day. I both am an active member of the Junior Committee of the Alzheimer’s Association, New York City Chapter and an employee of the Alzheimer’s Association, New York City Chapter and this is a cause I feel very strongly about. My grandmother, Harriet, an amazing woman and someone who I have always been very close to, is in the developed stages of Alzheimer’s Disease. She is the reason I have become involved with the Association and the reason I am very passionate about working towards a cause. Although I speak about Alzheimer’s every single day at work and in social settings, this post is proving to be very difficult for me to write.

I am writing this today, to ask for anyone who is able, to join the fight to end Alzheimer’s. There are many ways you can help. I am currently in the process of planning the Manhattan Memory Walk. If you are in the New York City area, come walk or donate. To join my team or donate under my name, Harriet’s Heroes, you can click here: http://mw2010.kintera.org/harrietsheroes

Any amount helps and I would love to have as many of you as can make it to join in the walk. Another way to help is to become an advocate. To sign up to be an advocate against AD, click here:

http://www.kintera.org/site/apps/ka/ct/contactus.asp?c=frJHJTOyFmH&b=3857025&en=9rILKUNwF7KGK2MLJbKGJ0NFLjLTIYMFIlKQLVPJKrL5G

Every 70 seconds, someone new is diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease. We need to find a way to prevent this disease from affecting even more people that we love. Please spread the word.

For more information about Alzheimer’s Disease and how you can get involved with a chapter near you, please visit www.alz.org

Leave a Reply

